yskrot.blogg.se

Paula abdul straight up choreography
Paula abdul straight up choreography





paula abdul straight up choreography

Following her years as one of the original judges during American Idol’s shoot to popularity, she’s managed to parlay her celebrity into a consistent position as a judge/guest host/reality show creator/jewelry designer, rarely absent from some form of national prime time spotlight.

paula abdul straight up choreography

"It's a dream come true.Paula Abdul’s tour hits Reno on Sunday, Nov. Is Paula Abdul comfortable with her life right now? "I think this is the ultimate part of my career - to choreograph myself and sing my own songs," she tells me. "I'll tell you, if I could explain the way my life's been in the last two years, it's just been unbelievable, because every time I turn around something incredible is happening," she exclaims. Evita is special because I'm going to be working with the greatest of the greats."Ībdul has a lot to be excited about these days. That's a choreographer's dream - to do something on that scale. Oliver Stone asked me to do Evita with Meryl Streep. "When I'm done with my second album," she says excitedly, "I'm going to be jumping into an important choreography job. This summer she is doing the sessions for the follow-up to Forever Your Girl. As it is now, music is definitely my first priority, but I'm trying to fit in the choreography as much as I can." The choreography and the musical career right now are two things that definitely take up all my time. "As I was taking a little vacation from choreography, I was just starting to wet my feet in directing. "I'm really happy and grateful that Virgin did, because 'Straight Up' went on to become a tremendous hit and that really proved how a single can sell albums for you."Įven with success well in hand, Abdul has other projects in mind. On this point Abdul sounds almost apologetic - that "Straight Up" should take off, losing the record company their chance to promote "The Way That You Love Me." "It's always a hard decision for a record company to switch singles in the middle of a game plan because you risk losing the entire project," says the singer. "It was really strange because at the time I was recording my album I had a Tracey Ullman film I was working on and I was choreographing George Michael's Faith tour and an Eddie Murphy film." "It was difficult because I had choreography commitments during the day," she says. She would have liked to have spent more time on it, but that wasn't the way things worked out. According to the singer, all vocals were recorded within a six-week time frame, with the assembling and mechanical work coming later. So all of a sudden 'Knocked Out' was added to playlists, and I got a phone call that we had to put the choreography aside and finish the record."įorever Your Girl, or at least Abdul's contribution to it, was recorded very quickly. They went to (a radio convention) and radio programmers picked 'Knocked Out' off the CD and started playing it up north. They weren't thinking ahead and they put 'Knocked Out' on there. "What happened was that Virgin Records put out a compilation CD. "It was actually by accident," she remembers.

paula abdul straight up choreography

From her description, though, it sounds more like a shock. You might say that Abdul's success came as a surprise.







Paula abdul straight up choreography